What I Learned from Whole30

I have officially completed my first Whole30! The experience was honestly, a little easier than I was expecting, but that’s not to say there weren’t difficult moments! I can’t say that I truly experienced the “tiger blood” the Whole30 authors refer to, but I am sleeping better, my energy is up, and I have multiple non-scale victories which are wins in my book!

As I think back onto the past 30 days and life after Whole30 (I kind of don’t even know what to do with myself!) I came up with 10 thoughts/things I learned from this experience:

  1. Why did it take me so long to jump on the La Croix train?!
  2. Label reading is key. There are all sorts of unnecessary preservatives and crap added to things.
  3. Ghee over butter all day.
  4. Sweet potatoes are God’s gift to Whole30-ers everywhere.
  5. Cheese? What cheese?
  6. Nutritional Yeast: it’s not as weird as it sounds. And kind of tastes like cheese. (See #5.)
  7. Favorite Recipe right here.
  8. I reeeaaaallllyy missed popcorn. And chips and salsa.
  9. Plantain chips are dangerously delicious.
  10. I would definitely do this again. And will continue to stick to a mostly-Whole30 lifestyle.

Today was Day 1 of the Reintroduction phase and I experimented with legumes today. Peanut Butter with my banana (I actually prefer almond or sunflower butter!), hummus with my carrots, and lentil soup for dinner. I can already tell my body is not a huge fan of legumes and I don’t think it will be that difficult to leave out of my diet completely. Back to Whole30 for the next 2 days and then I’ll reintroduce non-gluten grains. We shall see!

i-finished-the-whole30-white

Leave a Reply

